Simply Shelley



“Because” I said so…

This morning I read Mignon Fogarty’s blog named “Because,” “Due To,” “Since,” and “As”. I personally love the way that she writes because it is simple enough to understand but gives you the tools that you need to take your writing from average to extraordinary!

In this blog, I learned that when in doubt, use “because” in a sentence rather than “due to,” “since,” or “as”. For example, you can use “since” and “because” as synonyms, but at other times it could be confusing to the reader because their definitions are slightly different.

While I was reading, I came across an idea that I had never really thought of before. Fogarty gives a good tip when she suggests to only use the phrase “due to” when it could easily be replaced with “caused by” or “resulting from”. This really caught my attention so I thought that I would add it into my blog.

So, now the question is, what would I like to know more about? Well this list could go on forever, but within this context I have a few things that I would like to know more about. I am usually awful at making sentences too wordy, so I would love to learn more tips on how to shorten my sentences and simply get my point across. One way, that I have learned today, is that  I can un-clutter my sentences by using “because” when I am in doubt of what wording to use!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * jameskick says:

    It sometimes is hard for us to condense our writing. Especially when you’re a descriptive, creative type like me 🙂

    However, we are required in certain circumstances to really focus on what is most important. This is especially the case for press releases and in PR writing. Good luck as you attempt it!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

