Simply Shelley



Topic of the Week — Cleaning your Copy

Last week, everyone in our class had the opportunity to take a course in “Cleaning Your Copy” from NewsU. This course was so good for me, especially because I am starting to write a lot more in all of my classes.

What I learned…

First of all, I have to say that I learned SO MUCH by going through this course. I would say that my biggest strength out of grammar, AP style, punctuation, and spelling, would be spelling. My weakness out of the four would have to be using the AP style, but I am slowly, but surely learning!

What surprised me…

To be completely honest, the thing that surprised me the most was how little I learned before I started. I felt like I had heard a lot of the facts before, but it must have been a long time ago. So I must say that I was pleasantly surprised to learn so much from a pretty short online course.

What I want to know more about…

I would love to learn more about the AP Style. I know that I will by referencing to the AP Stylebook. I feel that through blogging more often I will continue to improve my skills as well. One area of the AP style that I would learn to more about is about punctuation. I really hope to improve my writing skills all the way around though!

That is all for week 4 TOW!!

here is the link to NewsU Cleaning Your Copy … http://www.newsu.org/courses/cleaning-your-copy-grammar-style-and-more

like to AP stylebook … http://www.apstylebook.com/?ref=google&gclid=CLigi-jD1J8CFQ5qswodHz74cA

Leave a Reply

