Simply Shelley



PR Connection #3

So as I was trying to find new issues that are going on in the PR world this week, and it suddenly came to my mind that a new show “SPINdustry” just aired this past Sunday night at 10:30 p.m. on E!. The show follows the company Command PR which is owned by Jonathon Cheban and the show is being produced by Jonathon’s close friend, Kim Kardashian.

I had mixed feeling about the show for many reasons. First, I loved it because Kim Kardashian does a few appearances on the show and I love her! I also thought that this would be a fun show to watch, being a PR major and everything! But, I did not like how much emphasis was put on the “drama” of the show, instead of the actual business. Overall, I liked it, but a lot of my friends who do not know a whole lot about PR said that it made them think that you have to be skinny and gorgeous to be a PR practitioner. So I did not like the fact that it portrays PR professionals in a not so great way. At the same time, it is only a show and there has to be plenty of “drama” for people to watch and get into the show.  So I guess that I can not be too critical of the show, that is just the way it is!

I really would like to know what everyone else thought about this show because I had mixed feelings about it!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Blog Comments « Tashe's Blog pingbacked on 7 years, 8 months ago

Comments

  1. Hey Shelley,
    I wrote a PR connection about this too! I saw the show and I felt the same way you did. I thought the show was entertaining and I watch E! a decent bit, but I thought that the women who are supposed to be PR professionals on the show do not put their profession in a good light. There was way too much “drama”, and I feel like if I were a celebrity I would want to stay away from the problems Command PR seems to have. I think that if you are in PR you probably wouldn’t want to have a lot of attention of the inner workings of your business, but that’s me. I love your post!
    Kristina

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  2. Shelley,
    We have way too much in common! I watched this show too, and immediately thought of our Public Relations classes. It is about time there are some reality PR shows on T.V. I got sucked into this show for the same reason you did..Kim Khardashian! I actually really enjoyed the show because this type of Public Relations is my dream, to get to work for such a large and well known company. I agree with you that the drama is a bit much but I doubt you could even have the show without having some type of interesting conflict. I think it gives the show a little spice! The Jonathon character cracks me up and the vice president is hilarious too. We will have to keep up with the show and continue to see what happens..great post!

    Lauren Stevens

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  3. * tlgraves says:

    I am so upset that I forgot to watch this show! I have to set my DVR to record the next one. I heard the same positive and negative feedback about the show that you mentioned in your blog. If I can’t become an event planner, this is the kind of PR work that I want to do. I too like Kim Kardashian, I feel like although there is not much to her, she promotes herself in a way that makes people want to watch/listen/support her and that is what PR is all about. I understand how the show could have too much “drama” however, that IS what entices viewers to watch. Do you remember the show from years ago on MTV called “PoweR Girls”? It was about a group of girls working at a PR firm and I felt like it concentrated too much on the drama rather than the task at hand (but it was MTV so what can you expect). I really liked your post and I can’t wait to catch the next episode of SPINdustry.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

