Simply Shelley



Ch. 7 key points

After reading chapter seven of Dennis L. Wilcox’s Public Relations Writing and Media Techniques, 6th Edition, I have realized that I personally like writing feature stories better than regular news stories. This chapter was very exciting to me and it also has helped me in my News Reporting and Writing class that I am taking this semester as well. I prefer a feature story because it can provide “fun” facts that a news story does not. Compared to a news story, a feature story can provide background information, generate human interest, and create understanding in a more imaginative way. In my opinion, I would much rather prefer to read a feature story than a news story, because it is fun and takes more creativity to write. Here are a few facts that I thought were good to know:

  • A proposal should include: tentative title of the article, subject and theme, significance, major points, and description of photos and graphics that are available.
  • Types of feature stories include: case studies, application stories, research studies, backgrounders, personality profiles, and historical pieces.
  • Feature stories include many parts : the headline, the lead, the body, the summary, and photos and graphics.
  • There are many placement opportunities for writers. These opportunities are newspapers, general magazines, specialty or trade magazines, and internal publications.
  • A term that I had never heard before but read about in this chapter was an “op-ed”. The purpose of an op-ed is to present a variety of views on current news events, governmental policies, pending legislation, and social issues. This was really cool to me because it does not only provide one view of an issue.

That is all for chapter seven! I hope this is helpful! Here is the link to the textbook … http://www.amazon.com/Public-Relations-Writing-Media-Techniques/dp/0205648282

Leave a Reply

