Simply Shelley



Ch. 9 key points

This weeks reading from Dennis L. Wilcox’s Public Relations Writing and Media Techniques 6th Edition, was so interesting to me! A few semesters ago, I took a mass communications course and learned a lot of the facts that were in this chapter. All of chapter nine talks about how to write for radio and television. The reason this is interesting to me is because I think that I could see myself writing radio or television commercials for whatever company I end up working or interning for. If you can’t tell, I get really excited when I talk about a future job!! From what I have learned in our PR Writing class, I can tell that I really like to write so this could be right up my alley. Here are a few things that I learned from chapter nine:

  • Even though radio lacks the glamour that television and the popularity of the Internet, it is a lot less expensive, so if a company is on a lower budget, radio is the way to go.
  • In a radio news release, the focus is on short, strong sentences — not long, drawn out sentences.
  • A public service announcement (PSA) is an unpaid announcement that promotes the programs of the government or nonprofit organizations that serve the public interest. I actually did not know that it was only for government or nonprofit agencies, I guess you learn something new everyday!
  • PSA’s are supposed to be made as simple and to the point as possible.

That is all for chapter 9!

http://www.amazon.com/Public-Relations-Writing-Media-Techniques/dp/0205648282

Leave a Reply

