Simply Shelley



TOW– helpful tips

So to conclude my blog for my Spring 2010 PR Writing course, I want to give the next group of “bloggers” that are coming a list of helpful hints that I would have appreciated having before I began my one blog in January. My “top ten” list is not going to make blogging a breeze or anything, but I hope that it will give a little insight and let others know that it is NOT impossible, even though it can be stressful and even annoying at times.

And so my top ten list begins:

  1. Try to do all your blogs every Monday. Or you could pick any day out of the week, Monday was just the day that I picked because it was easy to remember and then you did not have to think about blogging for another week!
  2. Watch or listen to more news and read up on some PR websites. Doing this helped me a lot when writing the PR Connection blogs.
  3. READ THE CHAPTERS! it makes writing the key point blogs easier, and it is also a plus for when you have to take the RATS online!
  4. When blogging, really try to learn instead of getting the blog out of the way.
  5. Do not procrastinate. I know that it is hard not to, but make yourself do everything before a new week starts.
  6. Learn how to put in hyperlinks, pictures, and that kind of stuff into a blog early into the semester because it makes blogs more fun to read and to write!
  7. Get together with people in your class to agree to comment on each others’ blogs weekly. This gives you more experience when commenting and it is an easier way to start commenting.
  8. Learn to love your blog!
  9. Make blogging fun! This will make more people want to read what you have written
  10. Stay ahead of schedule, it makes things a lot less stressful!
Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I have yet to write my helpful hints yet but looking at yours now makes me think back to the beginning to what I should have probably done to be better at this haha! I love that you said to pick a day out of the week and work on your blogging, so true! If you do that then you always know you will get it done and you will be ready for it when it comes around the next week. I also liked learn to love your blog tip! I wish I would have done more of this instead of trying to just get it done. If I wasn’t so busy all the time I would have loved to make my blog more “me” and added cool things to it to make it more interactive or just look nicer. Lastly I agree with the reading up on your news or watching it. We should be doing this anyways but it definitely helps with knowing what to talk about in your PR connections and makes things run more smoothly.
    -Lauren Stevens

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
  2. You shared some great tips. I’ll be sure to point next semester’s students to them.

    Thanks!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

